Jesse Boykins III 'Bartholomew' Release

Jesse burst into the music scene with his first release Dopamine: My Life On My Back EP, a soulful narrative on love, infatuation, lust, obsession, pain and loss. His critically acclaimed follow-up LP The Beauty Created boasts an unabashed admiration of romance. Jesse’s organic tone, innovative sound and live instrumentation on these two early projects solidified his defining place in the history of soul music. 2011’s Gold Panda-produced Way of a Wayfarer EP explores with greater depth his spiritual journey. 2014’s Love Apparatus was hailed by Pitchfork as “a warm, dreamy album that easily allows you to get lost in its glow”, while collaborations with innovative and eclectic artists including MachineDrum, Theophilus London, Tokimonsta, Nadastrom and Logic expanded his sound into new territory. Jesse’s highly-anticipated, full length Bartholomew mixtape and short film project, with features from Alex Isley, Tess Henley, Syd the Kyd and more, will be released Spring 2016.

Freshmen Friday's own Olivia Seally helps Jesse celebrate the launch of his upcoming project, Bartholomew, which will be released in June 2016 leaving us amongst the first to hear Jesse’s new work.