Kilo Kish

Kilo Kish.jpg

You can follow Kish here.

Where are you from?

Born in Orlando, Florida. Went to school in NY and am now living in LA.

What do you do?

I make music (under the name Kilo Kish), make art and do some design stuff. I never went back to Pratt, I did an internship with this brand called Salvore, it was scarves and just patterns… cool screen-printing stuff and I was kind of into tactile arts, I wanted to see where that went, I knew I didn’t want to be a fashion designer but I am into patterns and working with my hands.

When I was 21 I started getting comfortable playing my music for people and taking it more serious. I've been doing a combination of both ever since...

Do you feel like you are a freshman, sophomore or senior in your field?

Sophomore… I feel like you kind of have to kick around and go through certain things to get a handle on what you’re doing and now I’m definitely in a different head space about it. I was a freshman was up until maybe last year, because I didn’t really take it that seriously and I feel like I hadn’t done anything yet. But I wish I would have trusted myself a little bit more, in my own capabilities. I wish I was able to see what other people saw in me, earlier on. But now that I see music as an outlet for my art, just like I can make painting my art, just like I can make a collection my art. That gave it a different level of seriousness for me. So that’s where I am now, it’s also just getting older… you have a little more pride in the things you do and they’re more calculated and you’re less aloof with your work method. So I just want to make the best things that I can make and try to learn and get better at what I do. I just want to make stuff until I’m old. Hopefully, by the time I’m sixty I’ll just be able to chill, money-wise and be able to paint and draw and make books and eat fruit in the morning and just be old, you know?

List three people that inspire you…

Brandee Brown

Laura Harrier

Kitty Cash